Visitors to the 2014 Helsinki Boat Show held at the Helsinki Exhibition and Convention Centre participated in choosing Boating Product of the Year. According to the public, the Dragonfly echo sounder was voted the most popular product.

The ten products to take part in the final vote for Boating Product of the Year 2014 were chosen by members of the Association of Finnish Boating Journalists which is comprised of marine industry media professionals. The products were put on display at the Vene 14 Båt show during the ten-day period 7-16 February. The winner was then chosen on the basis of votes by the general public.
Raymarine's new DRAGONFLY echo sounder was voted Boating Product of the Year 2014. The Dragonfly utilises CHIRP technology to plot an incredibly accurate underwater image at unprecedented depths. The Dragonfly is very user-friendly and ideal for all sizes of boat and all levels of operators. The echo sounder, imported by Raymarine Finland Oy, is favourably priced. Of the total number of participants, 18,7% gave their vote to the Dragonfly.

On the basis of the vote by the general public, honourable mention was given to the Oceanvolt SD15 electric motor (12,5%) manufactured by Oceanvolt Oy and the Vaavud wind meter for smart phones imported by John Nurminen Marine Oy.

The winner of the Boating Product of the Year 2014 was chosen from the following ten finalists:

LEHR propane-powered outboard engine, importer Oy Vestek Ab
PFE fire extinguisher, importer Oy Vestek Ab
Oceanvolt SD15 electric motor, manufacturer Oceanvolt Oy
Vaavud wind meter for smart phones, importer John Nurminen Marine Oy
Dragonfly echo sounder, importer Raymarine Oy
Wavesoft shock absorbers, importer Six-Cap Oy
SeaSmart odour remover, importer ProNav Oy
Boarding Ring anti-motion-sickness glasses, importer Oy Vestek Ab
Buster Plus service totality, importer Fiskars Boats
Fusion MS-RA205 marine stereo, importer John Nurminen Marine Oy.

A Yamaha 2,5 hp four-stroke outboard engine, gifted by Konekesko Oy, was raffled among voters. The engine was won by Henna Kivinen from Kerava.
Contact details of the winners:

Raymarine Finland Oy
Suomalaisentie 1-3, 02270 Espoo
Marcus Bäckman, markus.backman(at)raymarine.com
Tel: 050 433 9567

Oceanvolt Oy
Vanha Talvitie 1, 00580 Helsinki
Christian Hallberg, sales(at)oceanvolt.com
Tel: 040 500 9995

John Nurminen Marine Oy
Heikkiläntie 8, 00210 Helsinki
Nico Kavaleff, nico.kavaleff(at)johnnurminen.com
Tel: 09 6823 1850